Top Ten Tuesday (3): Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

**Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we list our top 10 book-related things.**

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday consists of ten hyped books I’ve never read! 

Oh boy, here we go…

 photo 15215429_zpscehkxgk6.gif


    

1) The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzzane Collins – Back in 2011 a friend of mine who worked at Starbucks was reading this book, she was so invested in it. She was surprised I wasn’t reading it, and even after she explained what it was about I never felt the urge to read it. Fast forward a couple of years and not much has changed…oh, and I also haven’t watched any of the movies.

2) Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth – I have all three books in ebook format, and I even own a physical copy of Insurgent, and nope I haven’t seen the movies!

3) The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare – Yea…I don’t know about this series. My mom bought me a boxset of the first 3 books and not once have I ever picked it up.

4) Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi – Yet another one that I own but haven’t read. I know I won’t get to it this year, maybe in 2016!

5) The Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin – I seem to have a theme of books I own but haven’t read. I own the first two books in paperback and I’m patiently waiting for the third one to be released in paperback so they’ll match. I DO plan on reading this trilogy! I just want to have all three books so I can binge read.

    

6) Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – So, I own it but haven’t read it yet! It’s on my 2015 list of books to read this year so I feel like it will finally happen! I mean, I only just read Fangirl last year.

7) Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson – I sometimes find adult fantasy to be intimidating. Last year I picked up The Emperor’s Soul from the library so that I could test out his writing style and see if it was one I would enjoy. I ended up loving it! It instantly became a favourite and now I’m not so nervous to buy this series.

8) The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – I like to sometimes call this “the book that shall not be named”. I bought and started reading this back in 2013. However, this book was the book that put me in my first reading slump, EVER. I stopped around page 215.

9) The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater – Another one I actually started reading last year, but I stopped at page 235/416. I’m in no rush to catch up since The Raven King has been pushed back to March 2016!

10) The Fault in Our Stars – Now I have a legit reason why I haven’t FINISHED reading this. I was sitting on the subway reading this when a girl came up and asked me how far in I was, I told her the exact part I was at. And what did she do? Spoil the ending. Haven’t picked it back up since 2013 and I haven’t seen the movie.

Are any of these are your list?  Please leave comments & links to your Top Ten below :).

Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (3): Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. Christina says:

    Good choice on not watching the Divergent movies! They’re so far removed from the books.

    I hate it when people spoil books. Only I can do that to myself when I read the last page! I haven’t read Shatter Me,The 5th Wave, or Eleanor & Park either. They’re on my TBR pile tho. Hope you enjoy what you’re going to read!

    Christina @ Books & Prejudice

    Like

  2. Caroline says:

    I haven’t read the Raven Boys, Mistborn or Shatter Me either. I did actually start the Raven Boys as well, but I couldn’t get through it! Oh my gosh I’m so sorry that someone spoiled the end of TFIOS for you… that absolutely sucks. No wonder you don’t want to finish! Great list 🙂
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    I read The Hunger Games SO long ago. It wasn’t even out yet (I got an ARC at BEA). There was no hype around it at all. It’s definitely worth reading. The Mortal Instruments is my all-time favorite series. I wasn’t thrilled with Shatter Me, it was good but not great, and I heard things about the rest of the books in the series that made me not want to read them, so I haven’t. I don’t know if I will, I have a lot of other books to get to. I wish I never read the Divergent series. The last book was so awful that I got mad that I wasted my time with the previous books. I loved The 5th Wave, but I can totally understand how it could send someone into a slump. Most of it is very depressing and intense. I do want to read The Mara Dyer series, though.

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

    Like

  4. ebookclassics says:

    I’ve read and watched the Divergent series which I enjoyed, although my friend tells me the Hunger Games series is a better book trilogy. I’ve read Landline, but have wanted to read Eleanor and Park forever. I don’t blame you for giving up on TFIOS if someone spoiled it for you. That was really cruel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

