Review: Blackmail Boyfriend [Blog Tour]

Blackmail Boyfriend

Author: Chris Cannon
Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Entangled: Crush
Publication Date: August 11 2015
Format: ebook
Pages: 267
Source: Entangled Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has…

Haley Patterson has had a crush on golden boy Bryce Colton for ages. But when she hears a rumor that he hooked up with her she gives him a choice: be her boyfriend for a month to show other guys that she’s dateable—despite her overprotective and very intimidating brothers—or deal with the angry, cage-fighting boyfriend of the girl he actually did hook up with.

Bryce didn’t know the other Haley even had a boyfriend. He was just trying to get his ex off his back. And now, not only is he being blackmailed, he’s being blackmailed by an honor student. His new “girlfriend” has two three-legged dogs, her father mows grass at the country club, and she’s…well, difficult. And different.

Can something so fake turn into something real?

goodreads

** I received an advanced copy from NetGalley via Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review.**

OPENING LINES

I turned into the Greenbrier High School parking lot with a singular mission: figure out a way to keep my brothers from chasing off every guy who seemed interested in me.

Prior to starting Blackmail Boyfriend I was in a huge reading slump. Everything contemporary wise I came across I was unable to connect with the characters and finish the book. So when I received my copy of Blackmail Boyfriend I was worried it was going to be yet another contemporary read I couldn’t get into. Luckily, that was not the case :D.

When I first came across Blackmail Boyfriend I knew it was one I would have to read, and am I ever glad I did! This was such a cute and entertaining read that it pulled me out of my reading slump! The writing style flows well throughout the novel, and I really enjoyed the dual POV we get from both Haley and Bryce. As much as I liked Bryce and Haley, I think the secondary characters Jane and Nathan were my absolutely favourites! However, at times I would find myself getting annoyed with both Haley and Bryce, Haley was a great influence on Bryce and was able to make him see that there is more to life than money. The character growth between Hayley and Bryce was well played out and as the story progressed I was able to love them both!

Chris Cannon picked a realistic approach when it came to her characters throughout this book. I enjoyed that each character’s personality, families, situations and how they handled things was something that readers could relate to and see in every day life. Overall, Blackmail Boyfriend was the perfect read to get my out of my horrible reading slump and I can’t wait to read Chris Cannon’s next book!

 

GIVEAWAY

$20 Amazon Gift Card
Open Internationally

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Chris Cannon lives in Southern Illinois with her husband and her three dogs, Pete the shih tzu who sleeps on her desk while she writes, Molly the ever-shedding yellow lab, and Tyson the sandwich-stealing German Shepherd Beagle. She believes coffee is the Elixir of Life. Most evenings after work, you can find her sucking down caffeine and writing fire-breathing paranormal adventures or snarky romantic comedies.

Links: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

 

Hosted by:

YA Bound Book Tours
One thought on “Review: Blackmail Boyfriend [Blog Tour]

Leave a Reply

