Review: Unlikely Allies [Blog Tour + Giveaway]

Unlikely Allies Tour Banner

Unlikely Allies

Author: C.C. Koen
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Amazon
Publication Date: June 13 2015
Format: ebook
Pages: 500
Source: IndieSage PR
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥. 5

What happens when a single mom’s four-year-old daughter falls in love with Mr. Right and she doesn’t?

Maggie Tyson’s rule: no bad boys. Her incarcerated ex-husband broke her of that attraction. Needing to escape his threats and the scrutiny of the people in her hometown, Maggie relocates to New York City. Determined to not make the same mistakes, she has a mile-long list of dos and don’ts. Unfortunately, her daughter, Cecily, doesn’t like to follow them. When Cecily wanders away from her and right into Rick Stone’s office, Maggie knows he’s the exact type she’s been trying to avoid. Can she resist him or will she succumb to his willful charm?

Rick Stone’s rule: bed them don’t wed them. Running a multibillion dollar business doesn’t leave him with much time to do anything else, particularly with an overbearing grandfather breathing down his neck. But when a man works hard, he needs to play even harder. Voted America’s most eligible bachelor, Rick doesn’t have any problems getting women into his bed—except one.
Two auburn beauties stumble into his life.
One will break his heart.
The other—heal it.
Will he love or leave them?

goodreads

 

OPENING LINE

“Rick strolled into the office and collapsed into the leather chair behind his desk. Piles of manila folders spread across the top, reminding him of all the work he still had to do tonight. He reached for a file, and a movement to the right of his shoulder caught his eye. A pudgy white mouse was propped on the computer keyboard a few feet away. He stared in disbelief as the rodent licked its furry arm and scrubbed its face. Where did it come from?”

Excerpt From: C.C. Koen. “CCKOEN UnlikelyAllies ARC.” iBooks.

When I first came across Unlikely Allies it was the cover that grabbed my attention. I just loved the composition of colours and with a male having the child on his shoulders and I became curious as to know what this book would be about. After reading the synopsis I had to have this book in my hands! I just knew that I would be in for an emotional, at times funny read but romantic read.

Unlikely Allies was way longer than I wanted it to be. It was also a lot more serious than I expected it to be, which isn’t a bad thing! What I found really interesting was it seemed like the element of romance took a backseat in Unlikely Allies, I was mainly expected this to be a chick-lit kind of read. Although at times I can’t help but feel like there wasn’t enough time spent on Maggie and Rick together. The romance between them didn’t start to develop until more than halfway throughout the book.

That’s not to say readers weren’t left entertained! CeCe has to be one of my favourite characters! I really just want her to have her own book. *hint*hint*nudge*nudge* PLEASE CAN CECE HAVE A BOOK!?! Her cuteness and her automatic affection for Rick really helped move the story along. affected them.

Rick is the typical emotionally closed off workaholic, playboy. And Maggie has just escaped a HORRIBLE relationship and has her guard up, rightfully so. With dual POV’s from both Maggie and Rick C.C Koen spends a lot of time letting readers get to know Maggie and Rick, I enjoyed having the back story to each of them and seeing how past and current events/issues have impacted their lives.

Overall, Unlikely Allies was an enjoyable read. I enjoyed each characters POV and development between Rick and Maggie. CeCe is hands down my favourite character in this story, and the epilogue was a lovely wrap up. I look forward to the next novel by C.C. Koen *please let it be CeCe’s book, please!*. Would I recommend Unlikely Allies? YES!! This is the kind of read you bring with you for a long car ride, or one for a rainy day. I hope to get my hands on a paperback version so I can read it again and not have my face glued to my laptop!

PLAYLIST

Click here to listen to the playlist for Unlikely Allies!

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ABOUT C.C. KOEN

C.C. KoenC.C. Koen writes contemporary romance with a twist. An avid reader who enjoys mystery and suspense, her stories will never be what you expect. Determined to find adventure in her dreams and life, she enjoys skydiving, sailing and any activity that challenges her. Teacher by day, romance writer at night produce an active imagination that comes to life in her writing.

HOSTED BY:

2 thoughts on “Review: Unlikely Allies [Blog Tour + Giveaway]

  1. authorcckoen says:

    Thank you for taking time to read and review Unlikely Allies. I’m so glad you enjoyed the story. Cece’s story is brewing. I think her and Carter deserve a chance to take readers on another roller coaster ride 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

