Review: Soundless [DNF]

Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publication Date: November 10 2015
Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 266
Source: Library

Rating: ♥ [DNF] 

From Richelle Mead, the #1 internationally bestselling author of Vampire Academy and Bloodlines, comes a breathtaking new fantasy steeped in Chinese folklore.

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.

Richelle Mead takes readers on a triumphant journey from the peak of Fei’s jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiugo, where a startling truth and an unlikely romance will change her life forever…

 

goodreads

1.5 / 2 Stars

This was my first read by Richelle Mead. I never got into her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series, I grew up on Buffy and found the Blue Bloods series by Melissa de la Cruz WAY more interesting than the premise of Mead’s books. That being said, when I first heard about Soundless I was excited, it actually sounded amazing and let’s not skip over that cover! HELLO diversity!! But that’s about all I was able to enjoy when it comes to Soundless.

 photo 10261481_zpsqtevjfc9.gif

HOURS, upon hours of my life I will not get back that were wasted on trying to be interested and enjoy this book. Remember, I was VERY excited to read this! Fei goes on my list of boring, one-dimensional characters that have no depth whatsoever. The writing style? Painful. Boring. Flat. And did I mention boring? I swear I was close to putting tape on my eyes to try to stay awake and keep reading. I kept waiting for the storyline to pick up, for something interesting/intriguing to finally happen to make it worth the continuous torture I went through while reading, but that never happened. Granted, I did DNF this at Chapter 10 (page 133), so maybe something finally happened after that chapter. But there are 19 chapters + the epilogue and to get as far as I did something dramatic and plot twisty should have either have happened to started to brew at that point.

Soundless, you were a complete disappointment and I kind of, I WISH I never read you.

Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

3 thoughts on “Review: Soundless [DNF]

  1. kerosenelit says:

    I was so excited for this for so long. But I honestly don’t think I have seen one positive review for this. I think it might be safe to remove it from my Goodreads TBR. Such a shame. The cover is so gorgeous.

    Like

  2. irena_bookdustmagic says:

    You know what? I didn’t like this one either. And I love Mead!
    The only thing that I liked was her writing style (which you’re not a fan of so…).
    You didn’t miss anything, there is a painful plot twist that is there just so the story could be in fantasy genre (but it is really a dystopian).
    If you want you can check my review for it (it’s on GR): https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1186513778 but you don’t have to, I just posted it because I wrote in it everything that was illogical and dull.
    Anyway, i’d also unread this book if I could.

    Like

Leave a Reply

