Blog Tour, Book Review

Review: Shimmer [Blog Tour]


Shimmer

Author: Paula Weston
Series: The Rephaim, #3
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: March 8 2016
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416
Source: Tundra Books

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥. 5

Gaby thought her life couldn’t get more complicated.

She’s almost used to the idea that she’s not the teenage backpacker she thought she was. She can just about cope with being one of the Rephaim–a 139-year-old half-angel–whose memories have been stolen. She’s even coming to grips with the fact that Jude, the brother she’s mourned for a year, didn’t die at all.

But now Rafa–sexy, infuriating Rafa–is being held, and hurt, by Gatekeeper demons. And Gaby has to get the bitterly divided Rephaim to work together, or Rafa has no chance at all.

 

goodreads

Opening Line

“What did I tell you about scratching that?”

WOW.

Guys. If you haven’t read this series yet, go to your local bookstore and PICK IT UP ASAP!!!!

I’m completely new to this series! This series has been raved about by a couple of my book blogger friends, so when I saw Tundra Books had a blog tour for Shimmer I figured it was the perfect time to finally start this series! 

I only wish it didn’t take me so long to finally read it! Everyone talks about how obsessed they are with this series and now I finally know why! I binge read Shadows, Haze, and Shimmer in a matter of days! There’s so much I want to say about Shimmer but since it’s the 3rd book in this series everything I want to talk about will be a spoiler. Sigh. Paula’s writing style is extremely addicting and had me flipping pages just waiting to see what would happen next! At first I was worried I would be overwhelmed with all the secondary characters but Paula does an amazing job and perfectly inputting them at the right time. 

Gaby has definitely made it onto my top female characters! She kicks butt! I love how much she came into her own and this series progressed. And then there’s Rafa, my new book boyfriend! The chemistry between these two is unreal! The pace and suspense? Perfect!! By time I got to Shimmer and realized it was the 3rd book I was worried it would be filled with some fillers. However, there wasn’t any moments where I sat here rolling my eyes waiting for something good to happen. I spent most of my time battle with my eyes to stay open so I could finish reading! The secrets were so surprising and I never saw them coming. 

Overall, Shimmer was amazing! One of my favourite reads for 2016 and I can’t wait to get my hands on Burn! Although I really don’t want this series to come to an end o.O

 

Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

4 thoughts on “Review: Shimmer [Blog Tour]”

Leave a Reply

