Bookish Talk

May 2016: Goodreads Reading Challenge

Hey bibliophiles,

So the other day I was on Goodreads after finishing The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder and realized what my 2016 Reading Challenge was sitting at!

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Patty has
read 70 books toward
her goal of
100 books.
hide

Five months into 2016 and I’m already close to completing my 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge! WOOOOT!!! Well, close in my books. (Hehehe, see what I did there? Okay, well I thought it was funny).

 photo 13816144_zpseczaof0n.gif

And before anyone decides to be negative, I’m not trying to brag at all! I was originally worried that I would not even come close to reading 100 books this year. I had two jobs and a very very hectic schedule so I started off my reading challenge at 60 back in January.

So why did I change it back to 100? Well, let me start off with saying that throughout January I was constantly worried that every time I would go onto Goodreads I would see the words “you are 5 books behind schedule” or whatever it is it actually says when you’re behind on your reading challenge. I was worried I would feel deflated by this however around February/March I realized that I was making good progressive with reading and decided to up it back to 100.

How did I manage to read 70 books? I’m a fast reader. No, I don’t know how many words I can read per minute and I probably never will. I believe that if I was to try and do that test I would stress myself out and feel pressured to read as fast as possible just to get a good score. I also make use of my free time. Every day I’m either on the subway, streetcar, or bus and instead of spending my time on social media, I use that time to read. When I’m home I read instead of watching TV. That’s not to say I don’t watch TV at all but I’d just rather be reading 🙂

Some people might look at what I’ve read and go well there’s graphic novels on there. Why yes, there is! Reading is reading. I don’t care how many pages are in the book/manga/comic/graphic novel you’re reading. READING IS READING! I know many gets discouraged by setting reading goals on Goodreads and they have there reasons, I also know there are people out there who live a busy life with work and family obligations.

I’m just very happy and proud of myself for pushing myself to read, and also for what I’ve been able to accomplish so far ❤

 


Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

4 thoughts on “May 2016: Goodreads Reading Challenge”

  1. Not sure why anyone would be negative!? Well done, that’s alot of books read. 😊 I also agree that graphic novels, novellas, etc are all things you read. My own Goodreads challenge is small, 25 books but I’m not the fastest reader, also gaming and life stuff/work get in the way of my reading and as I read fantasy lots of them are hefty tomes of hundreds and hundreds of pages but reading is reading no matter how many books, page counts or genres. 😊

    Like

  2. Well Done on reading 70 books, that’s impressive!
    Took me a minute to get the joke but did laugh when I figured it out 😂

    Good Luck on the rest of your challenge, looks like you’ll smash it!

    Like

  3. And you should be proud of yourself! That is amazing!
    I wish I had your reading speed but I’m not complaining, I’m just happyfor you, that you managed to read so many books.
    This year I’m not doing GR challenge bc I don’t want to stress myself out, but I’d be lying if I’d say that I don’t count how many books I read this year… (It’s sth like half of your amount).

    Like

Leave a Reply

