ARC Review: The Museum of Heartbreak

The Museum of Heartbreak

Author: Meg Leder
Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: June 7 2016
Format: Paperback (ARC)
Pages: 269
Source: Indigo Summer Preview Event

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up.

Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak.

Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak.

Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately.

But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken.

 

goodreads

*I received an advanced copy from IndigoTeen via Simon & Schuster CA in exchange for an honest review. All quotes taken from a pre-published copy may be altered or omitted from the final version.*

OPENING LINE

“I don’t want them to go.
I know i will forget them if they leave now.”

Things I Liked: Pen, and how I was able to connect with her when I thought back to my high school days!

Things I LOVED: Eph<3!!!! The cover, the title, the writing style, and the little drawings!

Things I Disliked: Keats, Cherisse, Audrey. Ugh. These people.Allow me to elaborate…


The Museum of Heartbreak, aka a perfect summer read that covers the importance of hope, friendship, love, self discovery, and of course heartbreak.

Penelope. What a character, I’m not sure if I’ve ever read from a character that I was able to see myself in before. What I loved most about Penelope was the fact that she’s a character everyone can/will relate to. You might love her, you might hate her. But at some point you WERE/ARE Penelope. Meg Leder created such a realistic and relatable character with real life dilemmas that I actually forgot for a spilt second that I was reading fiction.

Eph = Swoon! I’m pretty sure I found a new book boyfriend. From the minute we’re introduced to Eph I knew I would like him, and as the story continued I went from liking him to just absolutely loving him. I love how strong of a friend he was to Pen and how he was always honest with her. Plus, there’s the fact that knew where this story was going before I even opened the book, so I went into this rooting for him.

“Things change, Penelope; people change. Sometimes you get hurt. And sometimes you’re the one doing the hurting.”

COVERLUST <3!

When I originally added this to my TBR shelf back in 2015, a cover had not been released yet. Then the day came when my eyes and that cover locked…it was a moment I can’t put into words! I just want to give a HUGE round of applause to whoever created the cover for The Museum of Heartbreak because it’s perfect! And not only was the cover perfect, but also the illustrations of artifacts or memories that we the focus for each chapter.

The Museum of Heartbreak. What a catchy title! Pen collects memories and artifacts that have to do with the heartbreak she experiences. Some of the items might be seem minor but each is like a catalyst leading up to the main event. Meg Leder’s writing seemed effortless. She created a simplistic world, characters with depth, and a well planned plot. I enjoyed Museum of Heartbreak from beginning to end and there was not a single moment while reading that I felt like I was reading something that wasn’t necessary to add. Everything had a time and place, and if something does not make sense to you at that moment I promise you it will at the end!

“Maybe in real life there aren’t happy endings. Maybe that’s the point.”

I don’t know which character I disliked more Keats, Audrey, or Cherisse. No, that’s a lie I think I equally disliked Keats and Cherisse. Why? Let me tell you! Both of these characters were villains, just absolutely evil and heartless and have no regard for anyone else but themselves! Audrey, UGHHHHHHHH! I’m probably the only person who disliked her. She’s “Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend” (don’t worry, that’s not a spoiler. It’s in the synopsis) and while some friendships do come and go I found Audrey to be thoughtless with her words and actions. I also probably do not like her because she reminds me so much of someone I was best friends with in high school. Hey, I was not kidding when I said I became emotionally invested in The Museum of Heartbreak. Audrey dragged things out instead of being honest which just ended up hurting Pen in the end.

“I realized that something terrible had unfurled. The mere seconds ago I had lived in a world where I didn’t know Audrey could hurt me. That now I lived in a world where I did.”

Overall, The Museum of Heartbreak was such an enjoyable read! Although, I have to say I only wish it was a little longer! Now don’t get me wrong, Meg Leder does perfectly wrap up The Museum of Heartbreak. However, the ending felt a little abrupt to me and that’s most likely because I loved it so much that I just did not want it to end! To the point that I was flipping pages hoping to find an Epilogue but there was only the acknowledgements. I can’t wait to get my hands on a finished copy so I can re-read it this summer and tab all my favourite quotes. While this is a fiction read there are so many life lesson throughout The Museum of Heartbreak that readers can connect with it displaying the importance of hope, the ups and downs of friendship, that love doesn’t come easily to some, and of course that we all experience different if not multiple heartbreaks.

 

 photo Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 5.49.38 AM_zpsc32vf2a7.png


Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Museum of Heartbreak

  1. Candid Cover says:

    You have got me more excited for this than I already was! Relatable characters that make you forget that you are reading fiction? Sounds like such incredible writing that is too good to miss out on. I can’t wait to have this one in my hands. I have to agree that the title and cover are amazing! ❤

    Like

  2. Sarah @ Kerosene Lit says:

    Ok, I was already pumped for this, but you just made me even more excited! I feel like I’ve been in a little bit of a slump lately, and I think something like this might help. It sounds adorable. I’m all over a swoon-worthy romance. Audrey sounds like a pain. I’m sure we’ve all had that friend in high school, though. 😛 (Or even university, in my case) This was a really great review, Patty! I can’t wait to read this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

