Blog Tour, Book Review

The Memory Book by Lara Avery

The Memory Book

Author: Lara Avery
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction,
Publisher: Poppy
Publication Date: July 5 2016
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 368
Source: Hachette

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥. 5

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.

Sammie was always a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as humanly possible. Nothing will stand in her way–not even a rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly start to steal her memories and then her health. What she needs is a new plan.

So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. It’s where she’ll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime crush, Stuart–a brilliant young writer who is home for the summer. And where she’ll admit how much she’s missed her childhood best friend, Cooper, and even take some of the blame for the fight that ended their friendship.

Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.

LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

goodreads

OPENING LINE

“If you’re reading this you’re probably wondering who you are. I’ll give you three clues.”

 photo 11615993_zpsxv1hpojv.gif

Dear Lara Avery,
thanks for breaking my heart.
Sincerely, Patty

I first came across The Memory Book earlier this year on Goodreads. In all honesty it was coverlust that drew me in, the white background and the girl standing there with the wind blowing was a beautiful concept. Plus, add the font on and I was sold! I’ve never read anything by Lara Avery so I went into this not knowing how emotional this book would be.

I finished The Memory Book late last night, and after I got over crying for a good solid hour (okay, so it was more like 2-3) I was filled with anger? No, no. Not the right word. Maybe frustration would be a better word? Yep. We’ll go with that for the time being. I was frustrated with myself because I wasn’t emotional prepared for this. I know, I know. It’s not realistic but I didn’t expect to be so emotionally invested and now, I don’t know what to do with myself. Sigh.

Me: Genetics. My great-aunt died of it when she was much younger than I am now.
Mrs. T: Died?
Me: It’s common among French Canadians, and my mom’s originally French Canadian, so…
Mrs. T: Excuse me, died?
Me: I’m not going to die.

-page 5 from The Memory Book, Lara Avery

There wasn’t any time for useless backstory and I highly enjoyed that the story starts off right away. From the first page we jump right into what is going on with Sammie and from minute I was introduced to Sammie’s character I knew I would love her. The Memory Book isn’t filled with long chapters, but short pieces of information about Sammie’s life, family, and friends to help her remember. The writing style was perfect and effortless, I found myself flipping through this book in a day. If I did have to do everything things I would have finish it in a couple of hours. Sammie creates a memory book to help “Future Sammie” understand what she was feeling and going through at the earlier stages of her illness. This was a beautiful way to reveal to readers who Sammie really is. I feel like many may read this book and will either love or hate Sammie. She’s not you’re typical cheerful individual. She has lists, she has goals and plans with what she wants to do with her life. I liked the fact that she didn’t let her illness bring her down, or she at least tried to not let it take over her life. Many will probably see her as cold, emotionless, or selfish but I found that for who Sammie was and what she was going through, it was all a realistic portrayal to me. While there is a love triangle (usually something I’ve come to dislike in YA) I found that Lara Avery had a very realistic approach to it that made it more tolerable then usual. Who does Sammie end up with in the end? Does she end up with someone? Well, you’ll have to read it to find out <3.

GIVEAWAY

*US ONLY*

3 Finished Copies of The Memory Book

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Be sure to check out other tour stops!

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

ABOUT LARA AVERY

Lara Avery takes her role as a young writer very seriously; she enjoys wandering the world notebook in hand, making her living off of odd jobs. One of those jobs happens to be publishing the novel Anything But Ordinary just two years after getting a degree in Film Studies from Macalester College.

When Lara left home armed with nothing but a basketball scholarship, she told everyone she was going to law school. Then, when she started interning at The Onion and publishing pieces of fiction in national anthologies, she realized her secret plans to be a writer all along.

Though Lara sat down to write Anything But Ordinary everywhere from a 110 degree apartment in Kolkata to a hostel in Berlin, she always felt at home in Bryce’s story. Writing currently from St. Paul, MN, she hopes her debut novel will be the first of many.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

