Review : 17 First Kisses [DNF]

17 First Kisses

Author: Rachael Allen
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 17 2014
Format: Paperback (ARC edition)
Pages: 319
Source: borrowed an advance reader copy from a friend.

goodreads

No matter how many boys Claire kisses, she can’t seem to find a decent boyfriend. Someone who wouldn’t rather date her gorgeous best friend, Megan. Someone who won’t freak out when he learns about the tragedy her family still hasn’t recovered from. Someone whose kisses can carry her away from her backwoods town for one fleeting moment.

Until Claire meets Luke.

But Megan is falling for Luke, too, and if there’s one thing Claire knows for sure, it’s that Megan’s pretty much irresistible.

With true love and best friendship on the line, Claire suddenly has everything to lose. And what she learns—about her crush, her friends, and most of all herself—makes the choices even harder.

 

AMAZON | B&N | INDIGO | IBOOKS | KOBO



Rating: ♥ [DNF]

 

OPENING LINE

“Finding a guy to kiss in this town is next to impossible.”

Things I Liked: nothing…

Things I Loved: still nothing

Things I Disliked: EVERYTHING!


DNF at page 30 (Chapter 3).

Excuse me, while I roll my eyes at the first sentence alone…
 photo 8266155_zpsg47luvdd.gif

“First of all, I have to find a guy who isn’t secretly pining over Megan McQueen, the most popular girl in school and my best friend. And second of all, I live in Pine Bluff. Which would be find if I wanted to kiss guys who chew tobacco and wear flannel. But I don’t.”

Okay, I know I probably should have given this book a couple of more chapters but from the first sentence I already didn’t like Claire. As I continued to read I just continued to dislike her more and more. I didn’t go into this with high expectations. I figured this would be a cute, fluffy, light summer read. Clearly I shouldn’t have expected that either. Many of my friends on here gave this book 4 or more stars so it’s probably just not my cup of tea.

“He’s a complete tool, and I never would have let him kiss me had I not been under extreme emotional duress at the time of said kiss.”

 photo tumblr_inline_msw33st9H11qz4rgp_zpsqhx1ad6v.gif

I think I almost lost my eyes from the amount of eye rolling I did. I can (probably) already guess how this will possibly play out. Claire falls for Luke, Megan falls for Luke. But Megan is miss popular so she’ll probably get him first. Claire will be heartbroken, but Luke will then move on to Claire. Which causes the friendship between Megan and Claire to come to an end. But Luke will probably either turn out to be a jerk or the chemistry fizzles away…or possibly to repair her friendship with Megan she ends things with Luke. Oh, the possibilities are running wild! NOT. In the end, I put money on the fact that Claire won’t even end up with Luke. I’m sure the moral to the story is learning and respecting yourself, making tough choices and learning who your real friends are…blah, blah, blah.

Would I recommend 17 First Kisses? No. Well, read at your own risk!


Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

3 thoughts on “Review : 17 First Kisses [DNF]

Leave a Reply

