Blog Tour, Book Review

Review: Last Seen Leaving

Last Seen Leaving

Author: Caleb Roehrig
Genre: YA, LGBT, Mystery, Suspense
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: October 4 2016
Format: eARC
Pages: 258
Source: NetGalley

goodreads

Flynn’s girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn’s girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can’t answer, and her friends are telling stories that don’t add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January’s boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January’s disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

 

AMAZON | B&N | INDIGO | IBOOKS | KOBO



Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 

 

OPENING LINE

There was a corpse in my neighbour’s front yard.

 

 


Let me start of with saying that I haven’t read any of the popular must read suspense/mystery thrillers yet. So while many were pitching this as a YA Gone Girl I really had nothing to compare to as I haven’t read Gone Girl yet.

Last Seen Leaving starts off with such a descriptive paragraph that had me instantly hooked and intrigued. Right away we start off finding out January missing (this isn’t a spoiler, it’s in the synopsis) and Flynn’s journey for answer and solving her disappearance begins. With trying to piece together what happened to January, Flynn learns that she had a lot of secrets. However, January isn’t the only one with secrets.

The whole book is from Flynn’s POV which I found was realistic, relatable, and humours. From the start I really liked Flynn’s character, his journey of self discovery and character growth is what really made me love this story. Caleb Roehrig did a fantastic job bringing Flynn’s character to life and making his voice stand out. While trying to piece together January’s disappearance Flynn is also reflecting on his life and the secret he’s keeping.

There was also a great selection of secondary characters.

  • Kaz, I won’t say much because I don’t want to spoil anything…but OMG I LOVED KAZ!! I only wish this book was a little bit longer so that there was more Kaz time.
  • Micah, Flynn’s best friend since they were 2 years old. I felt like Micah’s reaction and acceptance to what was going on with Flynn was realistic and a great approach.
  • Tiana, Micah’s girlfriend, Flynn’s friend, January’s best friend. I like that Flynn had Tiana’s support and there conversations about January. Since Tiana and January were best friends their connection and thoughts of what happened to her were interested for readers to observe.

Last Seen Leaving had a great plot layout and a strong pace. Although, I couldn’t help but feel like it fell into that rut or what I like to call middle of the book syndrome. The first half was great and kept my attention but then I felt like there were filler pages (four chapters) with things were being drawn out. But it picked right back up and I couldn’t tear myself away from this book.

Would I recommend Last Seen Leaving? I imagine that if you’ve read Gone Girl, or maybe you’re a fan of mystery/suspense books then you’ll enjoy Last Seen Leaving. Caleb Roehrig is defiantly an author I will be keeping my eye on!


GIVEAWAY

3 Finished copies of Last Seen Leaving

(US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Caleb Roehrig

Caleb Roehrig is a writer and television producer originally from Ann Arbor, Michigan. Having also lived in Chicago, Los Angeles, and Helsinki, Finland, he has a chronic case of wanderlust, and can recommend the best sights to see on a shoestring budget in over thirty countries. A former actor, Roehrig has experience on both sides of the camera, with a résumé that includes appearances on film and TV—as well as seven years in the stranger-than-fiction salt mines of reality television. In the name of earning a paycheck, he has: hung around a frozen cornfield in his underwear, partied with an actual rock-star, chatted with a scandal-plagued politician, and been menaced by a disgruntled ostrich.

Links: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram


Be sure to follow the tour!

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:

 
Week 2:

Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

3 thoughts on “Review: Last Seen Leaving”

  1. I have read Gone Girl and actually agree that it was similar! In fact, I actually said on my review (here, if you’re interested) that it’s like a watered down Gone Girl, haha. And you’re definitely right about the filler pages – the book overall was enjoyable and really easy to get into (and what a great opening line); I just didn’t find it unforgettable. Great review. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

