Review: The Regulars

The Regulars

Author: Georgia Clark
Genre: Women’s Fiction, Chick-lit, Contemporary
Publisher: Emily Bestler Books
Publication Date: August 2 2016
Format: Paperback (ARC)
Pages: 394
Source: Simon & Schuster CA

goodreads

A fierce and feisty debut with a magical twist about three ordinary, regular girls who suddenly have their fantasies come true… or do they?

Best friends Evie, Krista, and Willow are just trying to make it through their mid-twenties in New York. They’re regular girls, with average looks and typical quarter-life crises: making it up the corporate ladder, making sense of online dating, and making rent.

Until they come across Pretty, a magic tincture that makes them, well… gorgeous. Like, supermodel gorgeous. And it’s certainly not their fault if the sudden gift of beauty causes unexpected doors to open for them.

But there’s a dark side to Pretty, too, and as the gloss fades for these modern-day Cinderellas, there’s just one question left: What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?

 

AMAZON | B&N | INDIGO | IBOOKS | KOBO



Rating: ♥ ♥. 5 

 

OPENING LINE

“Despite her mother’s impassioned insistence to the contrary, Evie Selby had never thought of herself as beautiful.”

 


I originally came across this back in May when Simon & Schuster CA posted this on their Instagram page. I remember the caption talking about it being a modern day Cinderella and I was instantly intrigued!

Thankfully, Simon & Schuster CA was kind enough to send me a copy, which I took with me on my road trip. The Regulars started out as a very quick very for me, before I knew it I was close to being done part one and onto part two. But what started out as a quick read quickly turned into, is it done yet? The Regulars was way longer than it needed to be.

The characters were what I would like to think cliche and problematic. I couldn’t connect with any of the girls and while at first I enjoyed the magical realism I soon found it to be so far fetched. These girls took the potion because they believed they were ugly, they turn into three drop dead gorgeous girls but I found the change wasn’t impactful. They did things that made me cringe and roll my eyes, and were down right disgusting.

What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?

Clearly, their dignity and all sense…unfortunately, I found The Regulars fell a little flat for me when it came to pressing the subject and importance of body image. I went into this with the mind set that this would strongly touch on body image. I’m not saying that Georgia Clark didn’t touch on body image, because she sure did. I just felt that she did not go as in-depth as I expected and hoped she would. I expected at the end for the girls to really look back and reflect on what happened and what they learned and took away from that experience. I guess I just didn’t find have the overall message I was looking for.

Would I recommend The Regulars? If your looking for a light, at times amusing, magical realism read then sure, picking this up.


Until next time bibliophiles,
Patty♕

Leave a Reply

